The Older Americans Act of 1965

  • Created the Administration on Aging
  • Established a national convention every 10 years.
  • Ensure the right to work for people over 60.
  • Officially granted civil rights to the elderly.
  • Called for the creation of Area Agencies on Aging nationwide

In 1973, Indiana's Area Agencies on Aging, AAA's, were created by state statute.

  • Indiana has 16 Area Agencies on Aging.
  • The five county area of Wayne, Fayette, Franklin, Union, and Rush happens to be Area 9.
  • Area 9 In-Home and Community Services Agency is the official state Area Agency on Aging for Area 9.
  • All AAA's are not-for-profit entities.
  • Most of Indiana's AAA's are free standing organizations, but some have parent organizations.
  • Indiana University East is Area 9's parent organization.

In 1987,

  • Indiana started the CHOICE program
    • Community and Home Options to Institutional Care for the Elderly and Disabled Act of 1987
  • Medicaid Waiver funding began

Today a variety of in-home and community based services are funded with state and federal monies distributed and managed by Area 9.

  • Currently over 900 people in the five county area receive in-home services or home-delivered meals through monies managed by Area 9.
  • There are 11 meal sites providing hot, nutritious meals, home-delivered, or as part of the congregate meal program which serves more people in the area.
  • Area 9 also provides funding for 19 community senior centers in the five county area.
  • Area 9 contracts with a variety of in-home service providers and community service providers.
  • Services are funded with federal and state monies from a variety of programs:
    • Title III
    • Social Services Block Grant
    • CHOICE
    • Medicaid Waiver