ATHENA Leadership Award finalists announced

ATHENA Leadership Award finalists announced

Wayne Bank and Trust Co. and Indiana University East have partnered for the second year to bring the ATHENA Leadership Award to Wayne County. The ATHENA Leadership award is presented to an individual who is honored for their professional excellence, community service and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills.

“The ATHENA award provides the opportunity to celebrate and recognize exemplary community leaders in Wayne County,” said Mark Soukup, president of Wayne Bank. “There are many in this community who give tirelessly of their time and talent and this is one way that we can bring attention to those efforts.”

IU East Chancellor Kathy Cruz-Uribe said, “Wayne County is fortunate to have numerous individuals who strive to make the community a better place through volunteerism and service to their community. We are delighted to receive many outstanding nominations for the second annual Athena Award and we look forward to announcing the recipient at this year’s dinner.”

The request for nominations went out to the community in April. The response was tremendous. The five finalists chosen are:

Jackie Carberry, of Centerville, Ind., is the owner of Warm Glow Candle Company. Carberry serves on the Wayne County Tourism Board and generously provides in-kind and monetary donations to local schools and non-profit organizations. She is a member of the Reid Hospital Foundation Board of Directors and has been involved with BRAvo! and the Red Dress Ball, Cope Environmental Center Board of Directors, Reid Memorial Presbyterian Church, and the Economic Growth Group.

Karen Clark, of Richmond, Ind., is the dean of the IU East School of Nursing. Clark volunteers in the community through the Wayne County Health Vocations Advisory Committee, American Cancer Society of Wayne County, Big Brothers/Big Sisters, Richmond Community Schools, Care Coordination Services for the AIDS Task Force of Richmond, the East Indiana Health Education Center Board of Directors, Reid Hospital & Health Care Services Governing Board of Directors, United Way Health Vision Council and the Youth as Resources Board. Clark also helped start Citizens for School Choice/Galileo Charter School in Richmond.

Rachel Hughes, of Richmond, Ind., is the development officer for the Wayne County Foundation. Hughes volunteers her time and service through community organizations including membership in the Richmond Kiwanis Club, Altrusa Club, and the Women’s Club. She helped to establish and direct the Fountain City Wesleyan food bank and the 211 Call Center for Wayne County. She serves on the School of Humanities and Social Sciences Board of Advisors, the Urban Enterprise Association Board and is a committee member of the Wayne County Area Chamber of Commerce.

Valerie Ray, of Richmond, Ind., is the executive director of resource development at Ivy Tech Community College in Richmond. She volunteers with the Boys & Girls Club of Wayne County, United Way of Whitewater Valley, Communities in Schools, Young Women’s Christian Association, and previously with the Wayne County Step Ahead Council, United Way of Whitewater Valley, YWCA board, Order of the Eastern Star, Academy for Young Leaders Senior Mentor, Zero-Base Drop-Out program, Big Brothers/Big Sisters, Centerville Christian Church and youth sports coach for Centerville Youth League and Richmond Optimist.

Mary Walker, of Richmond, Ind., is the executive director of the Wayne County Convention and Tourism Bureau. Walker is involved with and volunteers through several community and state organizations including the Mayor’s Council on Economic Vitality, IU East Board of Advisors, Wayne County Area Chamber of Commerce Board of Advisors, Wayne County Leadership Committee, Indiana Tourism Board of Directors, Indiana Tourism Association Research Committee, Indiana Office of Tourism Development State Economic Impact Co-op Study Committee, National Endowment for the Arts “Our Town” grant and planning task force, Festival of Murals committee, Meltdown Winter Ice Festival, Raising the Bar (Business Alumni of Richmond) Committee, Place Based Investment Fund, Whitewater Canal Scenic By-Way Association, IN-OH Regional Tourism Conference, Association of Indiana Convention and Visitors Bureaus and Promote Indiana Coalition.

The award recipient will be announced at the celebration dinner on June 23 at 6 p.m. at Forest Hills Country Club. The cost for the dinner is $75. Proceeds will benefit local organizations dedicated to serving leadership building for women and will be announced that evening.

For reservations, contact Norene Groth at or 765-259-0208.







Be Sociable, Share!
Comments are closed.