Divisions at IU East will become Schools

Divisions at IU East will become Schools

Indiana University East is renaming its academic divisions beginning July 1, 2008.  Academic divisions at IU East will become the School of Business and Economics, School of Education, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, and School of Natural Science and Mathematics, and School of Nursing.

The change has been approved by the Indiana University Board of Trustees.

Academic programs have been led by a division chair and will now be under the direction of a dean.  

Larry Richards, executive vice chancellor for Academic Affairs, explained that the change to schools is the result of substantial efforts to create an appropriate academic structure for IU East.

“We will operate much more as a traditional, comprehensive bachelor’s and master’s university, with more autonomy given to the schools for curricular and other academic matters,” he said.  “It is a culmination of our change of mission.”

Be Sociable, Share!
Comments are closed.