Indiana University East Commencement Ceremony

Indiana University East Commencement Ceremony

Nearly 300 degrees will be conferred at the Indiana University East Commencement Ceremony on Friday, May 15. Commencement begins at 6 p.m. in the Tiernan Center at Richmond High School.

IU President Michael A. McRobbie and IU East Chancellor Nasser H. Paydar will preside and address the 297 graduates eligible to receive degrees during the ceremony. The figures include degree recipients from December 2008 and candidates for May, June and August 2009.

IU East will award its first graduate degrees in the Master of Science in Education during the ceremony.

As part of the ceremony, the Indiana University East Alumni Association will award its Distinguished Alumni Award to Keith Fargo of Naperville, Ill. Fargo is a previous resident of New Castle, Ind. The award recognizes outstanding alumni who have distinguished themselves through personal and professional accomplishments, community service, involvement with the university and involvement with the alumni association.

Derrick Stump, of Richmond, will address fellow classmates during the ceremony as the student speaker. Stump will receive a Bachelor of Science in Nursing and was selected to address the 2009 class after auditioning for the honor.

Sherri Hickey of Richmond is the recipient of the Naomi Osborne Award, an honor given to the graduate with the highest grade point average, and will lead the graduating class during the alumni induction ceremony.
For more information about the commencement, visit

About the Indiana University East Alumni Association
Dedicated to connecting alumni and serving IU East, the Indiana University East Alumni Association is an integral player in the university and the communities it serves.  More than 90% of alumni reside within IU East’s 17-county service area in Indiana and Ohio. For more information, visit

Be Sociable, Share!
Comments are closed.