IU East Enactus team advances to national competition

IU East Enactus team advances to national competition

The Indiana University East Enactus team won a regional championship in its league during the Enactus United States Regional Competition Exposition held April 12 in Chicago. The team will advance to the national competition May 21-23 in Kansas City.

Enactus (formerly known as SIFE) is a community of student, academic and business leaders committed to using the power of entrepreneurial action to transform lives and shape a better more sustainable world.

IU East students on the team are Hannah Clawson, Hagerstown, Ind., Ryan Doughty, Richmond, Ind., Tyler Fangman, Cold Spring, Ky., Drew Houck, Portland, Ind., Nick Miller, Lynn, Ind., Dan Printz, Greenville, Ohio, Bryan Schlatter, Indianapolis, Clint Shepherd, Eaton, Ohio, Troy Weir, Richmond, Ind., and Megan Winn, Eaton, Ohio.

The team has been working throughout the year on various projects related to teaching financial literacy concepts and entrepreneurship. Enactus members featured a variety of projects at the competition including “Shop with the Chef,” “Name Change to Enactus,” “YouTube Video Series: Working with Small Business,” “Social Entrepreneurship,” and “Podcast Series: Who’s Idea Was It?” The projects also included books on curriculum development including “ME,” a math entrepreneurship curriculum book, “ME2,” a book on math entrepreneurship and economics, “Women Create Jobs,” and “Business Success.”

“All of our practice really paid off,” Miller said. “I’m excited that our team will advance to nationals in Kansas City.”

Tim Scales, lecturer of business and director of the Center for Entrepreneurship, is the team’s advisor.

“Advancing to the national competition comes as a realization of endless hours and tireless efforts from a dedicated group of students making a difference for our campus, university and our community,” Scales said.

IU East competed in League Seven which included co-championship teams Graceland University, located in Lamoni, Iowa, and IPFW. The league includes first-runner up University of Dubuque from Dubuque, Iowa.

Be Sociable, Share!
Comments are closed.