IU East faculty, staff presented with service awards

IU East faculty, staff presented with service awards

Indiana University East presented several faculty and staff with awards for their service to the university during the Honors Convocation ceremony held Thursday, April 16.

Chancellor Nasser Paydar and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Larry Richards presented select members of the IU East faculty with awards during the program.

Alisa Clapp-Itnyre, assistant professor of English, received the Helen Lees Award for Excellence in Teaching. The Helen Lees Award was established in 1991. Professor Emeritus Lees passed away in 1992, but her spirit continues in the award IU East presents each year. It is to honor a full-time faculty member who has taught at least 10 semesters at IU East.

Jerry Wilde, associate professor of educational psychology, received the Award for Excellence in Research. This award recognizes excellence in research and/or creative work by a full-time faculty member over a sustained period of time.

Mary Folkerth, clinical assistant professor of nursing, received the Distinguished Faculty Service Award. This award recognizes distinguished service, either one-time or sustained, by a full-time faculty member above and beyond the expectations of any compensation or release time provided for the service.

Tom Thomas, associate professor of fine arts, received the Chancellor’s Faculty Award. This award recognizes outstanding all-around achievement, either short-term or sustained, by an IU East faculty member, and can be awarded for any combination of research, teaching, and service.

Katherine Watkins, adjunct faculty, received the Part-time Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award recognizes excellence in teaching by an adjunct faculty member over a sustained period of time.

Awards were presented to an outstanding support staff member and professional staff member who have made significant contributions to IU East during the past year. Roberta Fienning, executive secretary for the Office of External Affairs, received the Staff Council Service Award and Dianne Chandler, director of the Office of Human Resources, received the Professional Council Service Award.

Be Sociable, Share!
Comments are closed.