First National Juried Art Exhibition Opens April 9

First National Juried Art Exhibition Opens April 9

The Indiana University East Fine Arts program is hosting an inaugural national themed juried art exhibition, and the theme for this year is “Gender.” The exhibit will be open from April 9-June 19 in the Whitewater Hall Art Gallery.

The juried art exhibit is supported by the IU East School of Humanities and Social Sciences and the Diversity Commission. The exhibit coincides with the 27th Annual Indiana University Women’s and Gender Studies Undergraduate Conference being held at IU East April 9-10.

The show was juried by a panel of four judges: Ann Kim, assistant professor of fine arts; Carrie Longley, assistant professor of fine arts; Ed Thornburg, lecturer of fine arts; and Kate Cunningham, adjunct lecturer of fine arts at IU East and Purdue University College of Technology.

Monetary awards will be given to the top three artists.

Kim said the exhibition is set to become an annual juried exhibition each spring with a rotating theme. She added there were nearly 160 works of art submitted from which 40 were chosen for inclusion, representing 30 artists from 15 states.

The exhibit includes 2-D, 3-D and video. The artwork selected for the exhibit specifically deals with the fluidity of gender and sexuality; commentary on and/or challenging the conventional gendered language in visual art; reworking the conventions of representing gender and gendered bodies; investigating the shifting gender roles in today’s society; questioning the stereotypes of femininity and masculinity; the state of today’s parenthood; and promoting greater understanding of the LGBTQ community.

The opening reception for the exhibition is from 5-7 p.m. on Thursday, April 9, at the Art Gallery, located in Whitewater Hall. Award winners will be announced at 6 p.m.

Visitors are welcome to view the exhibit during gallery hours, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. For more information, call Ed Thornburg, gallery curator, at (765) 973-8605 or visit

Participating artists include:

  • Harry Ally, Troy, Ohio
  • Mary Ellen Bertram, Farmland, Indiana
  • Sarah Bielski, Satesboro, Georgia
  • Walt Bistline, Richmond, Indiana
  • Jeremy Brooks, Carbondale, Illinois
  • JT Bruns, Los Angeles, California
  • Amy Cannestra, Madison, Wisconsin
  • Evelyn Davis-Walker, Lewis-Center, Ohio
  • Pamela Dodds, Cleveland, Ohio
  • J. Casey Doyle, Moscow, Idaho
  • Chloë Feldman Emison, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Olga Evanusa-Rowland, Corte Madera, California
  • Jes Fan, New York, New York
  • Dan Farnum, Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Liliana Guzman, Richmond, Indiana
  • Susan Hensel, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Tracy Kerdman, New York, New York
  • Elizabeth Leger, Berkeley, California
  • Debra Levie, Chicago, Illinois
  • Rachel Livedalen, Fort Worth, Texas
  • Manda McKay, Athens, Georgia
  • Desiree Moore, Tampa, Florida
  • Jessica Pleyel, Iowa City, Iowa
  • Kaly Reichter, Richmond, Indiana
  • Daniela Rosario, Brentwood, New York
  • Michael Smith, Ogden Dunes, Indiana
  • Brett Suemnicht, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
  • Runcie Tatnall, Nacogdoches, Texas
  • Rhonda Thomas, Flagstaff, Arizona
  • Katy Traughber, New Albany, Indiana
  • Joni Wildman, Madison, Wisconsin

Leave a Reply