2015 and we’re ready with new library staff, enhanced service-learning, and One Book choices!

2015 and we’re ready with new library staff, enhanced service-learning, and One Book choices!

Library news you can use

KT Lowe

Welcome to our new Coordinator of Library Instruction and Service-Learning, Katherine (KT) Lowe! KT comes to IU East with work experience at a correctional facility, art gallery, and a variety of museums. Her skills include creating multimedia learning resources, lesson plan design, and legal research. KT earned several degrees at U. of Mich – Ann Arbor: a BA in Asian Studies, Graduate certificate in Museum Studies, and a Master of Science in Information. You can find KT in her library office (Hayes 140A), via phone at 765-973-8434 or email liblearn@iue.edu.

A quick guide of who’s doing what in the library and how we can help:


Center for Service-Learning (CSL) updates

service learning

There is a new registration process for all service-learning connected to IU East. If any student, whether on campus or online, is involved in service, it needs to be registered with the Center for Service-Learning. This includes for classes, clubs or independent projects. Campus/community service-learning liaison Ann Tobin will be glad to assist you. Please contact Ann with any questions about establishing new partnerships, general procedures or logistics: iueastsl@iue.edu or 765-973-8411. If you have questions about ideas for integrating service-learning into your course, you are welcome to connect with Frances, who is faculty liaison for service-learning. Any questions about policy can be directed to Mary Blakefield. We appreciate your cooperation in this important initiative to have every student counted for the impact their service provides!

One Book 2015 contenders

one book options

If anyone would like to provide input on the selection of One Book 2015, here are links to Google Books previews (not full-text) of potential One Book selections. They are not in ranked order. Please email anyone on the committee with your preferences or ideas. Committee members are Matt Dilworth, Sheila Armstead, Liz Johnson, Darla Lane, Denice Williams, Sarah Harris, Chris Snively, Kristan Kanorr, Gloria Dixon, Jack Haggenjos, Teresa Price, Steven Petersheim and Marisa Vanzant.

Leave a Reply