School of Education

Advisory Council

The time and commitment given by our Council Members is greatly appreciated.


The purpose of the School of Education Advisory Council is to improve the quality of education provided children by working collaboratively with us to strengthen the quality of our teacher education program. The mission of the School of Education is to prepare teachers who are Reflective Scholars, Instructional Leaders, and Global Citizens and to serve the community and profession promoting and facilitating best practice in education.

The council meets each spring. Task Forces (Diversity, Assessment, Professional Development, Special Education, and Recruitment, Retention and Marketing) meet via small group and email throughout the year.

Council Members

Name Title/Organzation
Rob Bailey ('13) Richmond Community Schools - RHS Science Teacher
Kierstan Barbre ('15) Communities in Schools
Laura Blessing Northeastern Wayne Schools - Superintendent
Kara Brush Richmond Community Schools - Crestdale Elementary Instructional Coach
Matt Dickerson ('12) IU East - Adjunct Lecturer
Bill Doering Nettle Creek School Corporation - Superintendent
John Engle Lincoln Middle School - Principal
Mary Folkerth IU East - Nursing Faculty
Nancy Fort Ivy Tech - Professor
Gwinn Gibbs Richmond Community Schools - Retired Principal
Treva Gough ('14) Randolph Eastern School Corp - North Side Elementary Grade 3
Duane Hodgin Richmond Community Schools - Asst Superintendent
Amanda Issacs ('00, '02, '14)
Brandi Jackson ('02)
Kristi Johnting ('00) IU East - Adjunct Faculty
Kate Lash ('14) IU East - Adjunct Lecturer
Millicent Martin Western Wayne News
Linda Morgason IU East - Adjunct Lecturer
Lisa Noble IU East - University Supervisor/Adjunct Lecturer
Kirsten Phillips Richmond Community Schools - Charles Elementary - Principal
Marc Price ('12) Richmond Community Schools - RHS Social Studies Teacher
Tim Scales ('91, '93) IU East - SoBE Faculty
Rita Slifer Test Middle School - Special Education Teacher
Kevin Smith IU East - University Supervisor
Dawn Sonsini Northeastern Wayne Schools - Principal
Phil Stevenson Centerville-Abington Community Schools - Superintendent
Cyndi Taylor Richmond High School - Special Education Teacher
Shawn Thomas Tri Village Elementary School - Teacher Grade 2
Jason Troutwine ('01) IU East - Vice Chancellor
Jessica Wilburn ('13) Test Middle School - Teacher English/Social Studies Grade 6
Carl Wilms IU East - Adjunct Lecturer
Eva Wolfe IU East - Adjunct Faculty
Zak Zurwell ('09) Western Wayne Elementary Schools - Teacher Adventure

IU East alumni are identified by having a graduation year after their name.

Request Information

Thank you so much for your interest in IU East! Please feel free to contact us with any questions at or (765) 973-8208.
Available Contact Fields
Ethnicity (check all that apply)
Available Opportunity Fields
Available Campaign Member Fields
Available Campaign Fields
Required Opportunity Fields (can leave hidden but must stay on the form)
Required Campaign Member Fields (keep hidden but need to keep on form)
Required Campaign Fields (may keep hidden but need to keep on form)