IU East’s School of Nursing and Health Sciences Pinning Ceremony will be May 11

IU East’s School of Nursing and Health Sciences Pinning Ceremony will be May 11

The pinning ceremony for Indiana University East Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.) graduates will be held on Friday, May 11, at 2 p.m. with a slide show followed by the ceremony at 2:30 p.m. The annual ceremony for B.S.N. students will be held at the Ligthhouse Assembly of God, located at 2339 West Cart Road in Richmond.

Graduates will receive their pin to wear for the IU East Commencement Ceremony which will be held that night at 6 p.m. at the Richmond High School Tiernan Center. Also at the pinning ceremony, nursing awards will be given to students. This year, 104 nursing students will graduate with Bachelor of Science in Nursing degrees.

Stacy Halbig, Aurora, Indiana, is the nominee for the Elizabeth Grossman Award. Each year Elizabeth Grossman, former dean of the Indiana University School of Nursing, recognizes a student from each program who has maintained the highest Nursing Grade Point Average (NGPA) on all IU campuses. These students will be placed in a pool with other IU students with the highest NGPA and the winner will receive a small cash award and an award certificate. The overall winners will be announced later.

The School of Nursing and Health Sciences will recognize the students who received outstanding awards during the Honors Convocation held April 20. Halbig was the recipient of the Chancellor’s Scholar Award. Kaylee Massey, North Vernon, Indiana, received the Outstanding R.N. to B.S.N. Student award, and Amber Huelskamp, Portland, Indiana, was the Outstanding B.S.N. Student.

During the pinning ceremony, students inducted to the Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International, Alpha Chapter, will be recognized. Bachelor of Science in Nursing student inductees to the honor society are Kellie Gransbury, Liberty, Indiana; Kari Ketchem, Brookville, Indiana; Jenna King, Greenville, Ohio; Tracie Kinney, Connersville, Indiana; Kelsey Kroger, Connersville, Indiana; Kelsea Miller, Union City, Indiana; McKenzie Mohler, Rushville, Indiana; Hayley Myers, Winchester, Indiana; Courtney Sebring, Milton, Indiana; Michelle Turner, Connersville, Indiana; Alexandra Wolfe, Winchester, Indiana; and Jessica Zigler, Saratoga, Indiana. R.N. to B.S.N. students to be recognized are Melissa England, Winchester, Indiana; Stacy Halbig, Aurora, Indiana; and Brittany Hooten, Greendale, Indiana.

For more information, contact the School of Nursing and Health Sciences at (765) 973-8213 or visit iue.edu/nursing. For more information on IU East’s Commencement Ceremony, visit iue.edu/commencement.

Comments are closed.