ATHENA Leadership Award Finalists Announced

Wayne Bank and Trust Co. and Indiana University East Center for Leadership Development have partnered to bring the ATHENA Leadership Award to Wayne County. The ATHENA Leadership Award is presented to a woman – or man – who is honored for professional excellence, community service and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills.

“Two different communities I have worked in hosted the ATHENA Award as an annual event. When I came to Richmond and began meeting women in very powerful and influential positions, I saw an opportunity to bring the ATHENA Award to Wayne County as a way to celebrate and recognize these community leaders,” said Mark Soukup, president of Wayne Bank.

“As the first woman chancellor of IU East, I am delighted that our region is fortunate to have a large population of dedicated men and women working hard to empower women. Their leadership has been evident for many years and the ATHENA Award allows us the opportunity to celebrate their dedication and commitment to ensuring that girls and women have the tools needed to make a difference,” said IU East Chancellor Kathy Cruz-Uribe.

The request for nominations went out to the community in April. The response was tremendous. The seven finalists chosen are:
Mary Jo Clark
Rachel Hughes
Carolyn Scheiben
Valerie Shaffer
Tracie Upchurch
Kelly VanVleet
Jane Vincent

All the finalists are from Richmond, Ind.

The award recipient will be announced at the celebration dinner on June 12 at 6 p.m. at Forest Hills Country Club. The cost for the dinner is $75. Proceeds will benefit local organizations dedicated to serving leadership building for women and will be announced that evening.

For reservations, contact Norene Groth at ngroth@waynebnkcom or (765) 935-5222.