IU East announces 2015 Alumni Hall of Fame inductees

The Indiana University East Alumni Association has announced this year’s inductees to the IU East Alumni Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame recognizes and celebrates the outstanding alumni of IU East.


Tony Foster

Nominated inductees are Anthony L. (Tony) Foster II, Rachel Mullen, and Valerie Shaffer.

Foster, of Richmond, Ind., graduated in 1997 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration. He is the executive director of the Department of Metropolitan Development for the City of Richmond.

Shaffer received her Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration from IU East in 2005. Shaffer, also of Richmond, Ind., is the president at the Economic Development Corporation of Wayne County.


Rachel Mullen

Mullen is a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Texas at MD Anderson Cancer Center. She currently resides in Spring, Texas. Mullen received her Bachelor of Science degree in Biology in 2002.

Inductees to the Hall of Fame are alumni who have typified the IU East tradition of excellence and brought credit to the campus through their personal accomplishments, professional achievement and leadership and humanitarian service and citizenship.

IU East Hall of Fame inductees will be recognized at the Chancellor’s Medallion Dinner on Friday, November 6, at Forest Hills Country Club, 2169 S. 23rd St., Richmond, Ind.


Valerie Shaffer

In addition to celebrating the new inductees to the Alumni Hall of Fame, the Chancellor’s Medallion Dinner will toast Garry Kleer, John McBride and Donna Spears as they are presented the Chancellor’s Medallion.

RSVP is required for this event. Contact Terry Wiesehan at 765-973-8221 or visit iue.edu/chancellor/medallion/. Tickets are $75 each.

For more information about the IU East Hall of Fame, contact Director of Alumni Relations and Campus Events Terry Wiesehan at (765) 973-8221 or twiesaha@iue.edu.